ECLAC will officially present a comprehensive development plan for El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and South-Southeast Mexico


On Friday, September 17, the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) will present the Global development plan for northern Central America and southern and southeastern Mexico to the Foreign Ministers of El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Mexico. The Plan addresses the structural causes of irregular migration from a development and integration perspective.

ECLAC Executive Secretary Alicia Bárcena will present the proposal to Foreign Ministers Alexandra Hill of El Salvador, Pedro Brolo of Guatemala, Lisandro Rosales of Honduras and Marcelo Ebrard of Mexico, in the Salón Morelos of the Secretariat of Foreign Affairs of Mexico at 4:30 p.m. local time. (GMT -6: 00).

Participants at the event include United Nations Deputy Secretary-General Amina Mohammed and Mexican Under-Secretary for Latin America and the Caribbean Maximiliano Reyes; the executive director of the Mexican Agency for International Development Cooperation (Amexcid), Laura Elena Carrillo Cubillas; United Nations resident coordinators in the four countries, as well as senior officials from these governments, the United Nations and ECLAC.

The Comprehensive Development Plan (PDG) for El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and southern and southeastern Mexico involves 20 UN agencies, funds and programs operating in the LAC region and seeks to change the discourse on migration by linking it to the theme of sustainable development and peace, placing the dignity of migrants and human rights at the center with a human security approach and focusing on the entire migration cycle: origin, transit, destination and back. In addition, it explores regional symmetries and integration-based approaches, provides an overview and expands on what states are already doing well with their resources, and it builds public capacity.

The proposal is organized around four thematic pillars: economic development, social well-being, environmental sustainability and overall management of the migration cycle. The Plan also has four cross-cutting pillars: institutional strengthening (including transparency, public management and procurement), technological transition and change, regional integration and public-private alliances.

Its thematic pillars are organized into 15 programs and 114 projects ready to be implemented, involving an investment of 44.735 billion dollars over five years.

In a joint political declaration signed on December 1, 2018, the presidents of El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Mexico called on ECLAC to design a comprehensive development plan to address the structural causes of migration in the four country, in harmony with the Sustainable Development Goals. of the 2030 Agenda and the Global Compact for Safe, Orderly and Regular Migration.

The Plan is based on a series of principles agreed between countries, including being partners in equal conditions, decision-making through dialogue and consensus, respect for human rights throughout the migration cycle, promoting the best interests of children, non-discrimination and adopting a human security approach.

The CDP is further based on the national priorities of the four governments and intersections with their national development, sector and territorial plans and general government policies. ECLAC and the United Nations Resident Coordinator Offices also worked on a strategy for the start-up and immediate implementation of the CDP with the four national governments, as well as a georeferenced platform for monitoring activities in the field.

On April 15, 2021, the United Nations Executive Committee, chaired by Secretary-General António Guterres, with the participation of key officials of the agencies, funds and programs of the United Nations system, established the Comprehensive Development Plan as a platform. form of inter-agency collaboration. . ECLAC is studying the creation of a multi-partner trust fund to facilitate the channeling of resources by partners and investors interested in supporting the CDP.

Members of the press are invited to participate in the presentation.

What: Official presentation of the Comprehensive Development Plan for El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and South-Southeast Mexico.

When: Friday, September 17, 2021, 4:30 p.m. Mexico time (GMT -6).

Or: Salón Morelos, Secretariat of Foreign Affairs of Mexico

Journalists unable to attend in person are invited to follow the broadcast live on:

If you have any questions, please contact the Public Information Unit of ECLAC.

In Mexico :

Email: [email protected]

In Santiago, Chile:

Email: [email protected]; phone: (56) 22210 2040.

Follow us on: Twitter, Facebook, Flickr and YouTube.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.