Wisconsin Auto Insurance Laws | The bank rate
According to the United States Census Bureau, Wisconsin had more than 5.8 million residents in 2019. That same year, Wisconsin reported nearly 4.3 million licensed drivers. With so many drivers on the roads of Wisconsin, accidents are inevitable. In 2019, statistics for Wisconsin revealed that:
- 145,288 traffic accidents occurred
- 511 people died in traffic accidents
- 28,791 people were injured in road accidents
- 6,058 accidents involving alcohol impairment
- 140 alcohol-impaired deaths
- 21,813 speeding-related accidents
- 163 speeding-related fatalities
You can help avoid accidents and serious injury by owning an automobile equipped with safety features such as air bags, anti-lock brakes, and electronic stability control. You can also protect your assets by purchasing an auto insurance policy. Wisconsin requires all motorists to purchase certain types of auto insurance. If you don’t have mandatory coverage, you could be subject to a hefty fine.
Auto Insurance Laws in Wisconsin
Every state requires its motorists to purchase minimum levels of auto insurance. According to the Office of the Insurance Commissioner of Wisconsin, automobile owners should only purchase personal injury liability, property damage liability and uninsured motorist liability insurance, including:
- Liability for bodily injury per person: $ 25,000
- Liability for bodily injury by accident: $ 50,000
- Civil liability for property damage by accident: $ 10,000
- Bodily injury by uninsured motorist: $ 25,000
- Personal injury to uninsured motorists by accident: $ 50,000
Liability Insurance in Wisconsin
Wisconsin law only requires drivers to carry strict liability insurance designed to cover damage to someone else in the event of an accident.
Many drivers choose to buy more than the minimum because the liability coverage you buy will only pay up to the limit. If you total another driver’s 2021 Honda Accord, it can cost up to $ 26,000 to replace it, $ 16,000 more than the Wisconsin property damage liability minimum of $ 10,000. A hospital stay can cost $ 10,000 or more per day. If you’re at fault in an accident that injures the other driver, Wisconsin’s minimum personal injury liability coverage of $ 25,000 probably won’t cover all medical bills. If the costs of the injury or damage exceed the limits of your insurance, you will have to pay the remainder of the expenses.
Financial advisers recommend having more than the minimum liability coverage. If you have high net worth, you may need liability coverage with even higher limits. A personal umbrella policy is a good option. If you are responsible for a car accident and you exhaust your liability limits, the umbrella policy will take effect to pay the remaining costs.
Is Wisconsin a Flawless State?
A handful of states have passed no-fault laws, which require all motorists to be covered by Personal Injury Protection (PIP). No-fault auto insurance laws require drivers to file a claim with their own insurance company, regardless of who is at fault for an accident. They also limit lawsuits involving traffic accidents.
Wisconsin is not a fault-free state, so drivers in Badger State are not required to wear the PIP, which means its auto owners do not have the protections in the event of a dispute. no-fault law. When insuring a vehicle in Wisconsin, always purchase sufficient liability coverage to protect all of your assets and also consider the added protection of an umbrella policy.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Wisconsin
The penalty for driving in Wisconsin without insurance is a fine of $ 500. If you cannot produce proof of insurance when requested by the police, you could be fined $ 10. If you can later prove that you were insured at the time of the incident, by showing digital or paper insurance ID, the violation will be removed. Wisconsin law recognizes digital insurance ID cards, which many insurance companies provide in their mobile apps. Presentation of false or forged proof of an insurance ID card may result in a fine of $ 5,000.
Although Wisconsin law allows police to ask for proof of insurance when they stop you for a traffic stop, it does not allow police to stop you for the sole purpose of determining insurance compliance.
Additional Auto Insurance Coverage Options in Wisconsin
Coverages required by Wisconsin law provide minimal protection, but you can add optional coverages for your peace of mind. You may also be required to purchase additional coverage if you lend or lease your vehicle. Some of the more common supplemental coverages are:
- Collision: Collision coverage covers your automobile and can help repair or replace it following a covered accident. Typically, leasing companies and lenders require collision coverage whenever you finance or lease a vehicle. In addition to covering your car when it collides with another automobile, collision coverage can also pay to repair or replace your vehicle if you collide with a stationary object, such as a telephone pole, or if you are the victim of an accident. ‘a hit-and-run driver.
- Full: Comprehensive coverage pays to repair or replace your car if it suffers a covered loss caused by a non-collision event. For example, comprehensive coverage will cover broken windshields, fire damage, storms, or stolen vehicles. Usually, leasing companies and lenders require that you purchase full coverage for financed or leased automobiles.
- Medical payments (MedPay): Although not required by Wisconsin law, MedPay coverage is affordable and offers excellent protection. It helps pay for the medical costs of you and your passengers following a covered accident. Expenses covered by MedPay may include co-payments and deductibles for health insurance, hospital costs, professional nursing care, prosthetics and surgery. MedPay can also pay for funeral expenses if you or a passenger die in a covered accident, and it can also cover you and your household members in the event of an injury while driving in another person’s car.
Auto insurance companies offer many other optional coverages that you might want to consider. Optional coverages vary by provider, but may include:
- Accidental death and dismemberment coverage
- Gap insurance
- Rental car reimbursement coverage
- Roadside assistance coverage
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best auto insurance company in Wisconsin?
According to Bankrate research, the best insurance companies in Wisconsin in 2021 include Allstate, Auto-Owners, Geico, Travelers, and USAA, but the best provider depends on your needs and the rates listed. Look for companies that offer the options you want at the best price.
What is the cheapest car insurance in Wisconsin?
According to Bankrate’s 2021 rate research, Erie, Geico, Progressive, State Farm, and USAA offer the cheapest auto insurance in Wisconsin. However, insurers use several personal factors to determine your auto insurance premium. For the most accurate rate, request insurance quotes from multiple carriers.
Does Wisconsin require proof of insurance when registering an automobile?
According to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation, you do not need to provide proof of insurance when registering a vehicle. However, you must have proof of insurance when driving your car. Failure to provide proof of insurance to a police officer may result in a fine of $ 10.